Inactive Staff

Staff can be set to inactive. An inactive staff member is unable to log in to the Gradient School/District account but their data connected to classes, students, and assignments remains intact.

Automatically Deactivate Staff

If a school/district is using Clever or ClassLink for managing rosters within Gradient, staff activation can be automatically managed. If a user is no longer shared from the roster source (Clever/ClassLink), they will be automatically deactivated within Gradient.

If a staff member that is managed using Clever/ClassLink is selected, no option to Deactivate will be shown.


For staff that were deactivated automatically, see the section to Activate Staff. However, this will discount the user from future automatic updates from Clever/ClassLink.

Manually Deactivate Staff

If a school/district is using manual file imports or an SFTP sync to manage rosters within Gradient, staff will need to be manually deactivated.

  1. In Admin Mode, navigate to Staff page.
  2. Select the checkbox before the staff member.
  3. Select Deactivate button from the toolbar. Click DEACTIVATE to confirm.

View All Inactive Staff

In Admin Mode, navigate to the Staff page, select the Role filter and choose Inactive.

Activate Staff

Activating staff that were previously deactivated from a Clever/ClassLink sync, will disconnect that user from future Clever/ClassLink updates.

  1. In Admin Mode, navigate to the Staff page.
  2. Use the Role filter to view Inactive staff.
  3. Select the checkbox before the staff member to be reactivated.
  4. Select the Activate button from the toolbar.

An invite can be sent to re-activated staff to allow a password reset but an invite is not required. Previous login credentials will work.

FAQ

How can I remove a teacher’s ability to log in to the school/district’s Gradient account? Staff can be deactivated within a school/district to be flagged as inactive. Data associated with the inactive staff member remains connected to the district Gradient account.

How can an admin view the data from a deactivated user? All data connected to an inactive staff member is preserved. A school leader will still see inactive staff data via School Reporting Mode, a Helpdesk Session, and within shared assignments.

To use a Helpdesk session, the inactive staff user must have accepted the invitation to join the school account before being deactivated.

Can I re-activate a teacher that has returned to the school/district? If a staff member has the status of inactive, the staff member can be reactivated by a Gradient System Leader manually or automatically via the roster sync(Clever/ClassLink).

Last year I was a teacher and this year I am an administrator without classes, we have a Clever/ClassLink sync that deactivated me this year? Staff members that were deactivated from a Clever/ClassLink sync can be reactivated, but will be disconnected from future Clever/ClassLink updates. If the staff member is a teacher, that is expected to have updated class rosters daily, re-add the staff from within Clever/ClassLink and they will be automatically re-activated.

Who can set staff status to inactive? The feature is available to a Gradient System Leader with permissions to edit staff rosters (see Roster & Role Permissions).

What if a staff member was previously deleted? Deleted staff can still be undeleted using Undelete Staff in the Audit Log.

Does an invite need to be resent when staff are reactivated? An invite can be sent to re-activated staff to allow a password reset but an invite is not required. Previous login credentials will work.